GtPGKogPYT4p61R1biicqBXsUzo" /> Google+ Book Review: Whispers of the Walker (The Gateway Trackers Book 1) by E.E. Holmes | I Smell Sheep

Paranormal reviews of books, movies, comics with author interviews and giveaways we love urban fantasy, romance, science fiction, horror, fantasy, mysteries

Wednesday, December 14, 2016

Book Review: Whispers of the Walker (The Gateway Trackers Book 1) by E.E. Holmes

Whispers of the Walker (The Gateway Trackers Book 1)
by E.E. Holmes
Dec 6, 2016
Pages: 339
From E.E. Holmes, author of the award-winning Gateway Trilogy, comes the first in the highly anticipated companion series The Gateway Trackers. It’s been several years since Jess and Hannah Ballard foiled a cataclysmic prophecy that could have destroyed their fellow Durupinen, an ancient clan of women who allow spirits to cross between the worlds of the living and the dead. The girls swore, after the devastation and chaos they endured, they would never get caught up in the inner workings of the Durupinen again.

They were wrong.

After breaking the code of secrecy and facing the judgement of the High Council, Jess and Hannah have no choice but to become Trackers, working to take down those who would exploit the spirit world for profit or power. Their first assignment takes them into the deep South, where Jeremiah Campbell, a self-proclaimed spiritual guru, lures wealthy and desperate devotees with promises of a deeper connection with the dead. As the girls go undercover, it soon becomes clear that Campbell is not merely the con artist they suspected him to be, and that they, and the spirit world they are sworn to protect, are once again in unimaginable danger.

Whispers of the Walker
is the first book in the companion series The Gateway Trackers. Jess and Hannah Ballard are twins who can open a gateway to allow spirits to cross to the other side. Both women are part of a secret society called the Durupinen and it's against the code to reveal any part of their society to outsiders. Jess and Hannah decide to use their gifts to help debunk frauds in the medium world. The girls keep their secret from those they work with that aren’t already privy to the information but in a very public case, the rules are broken and they must face the consequences.

The girls are given two options for punishment. One is so horrible it wasn’t worth considering and the other is a job, to become Trackers. The first case they are given is to investigate Jeremiah Campbell who says he can talk with an angel and give loved one messages. From their standpoint, it appears that Jeremiah is just bilking grieving people for money.

I truly love this series and highly recommend her books. If you are looking for a new series that is unique and doesn’t follow all the standard paranormal story lines then these are the books for you. The first series is The Gateway Triology which you definitely want to read before starting this series.

Getting 5 sheep

Denise B

About the Author:
E.E. Holmes grew up near Boston, Massachusetts, where she spent the majority of her childhood reading books. She read them almost constantly, and as a result, perfected the art of walking and reading at the same time, a skill she can still perform to this day with remarkably few instances of falling on her face. She also wrote many books and poems in blank books and on the backs of legal pads her father brought home from the office. They remain some of her finest work.

E.E. Holmes lives in central Massachusetts with her husband, two children, and small, but surprisingly loud dog. When not writing, she enjoys watching unhealthy amounts of British television, procrastinating, and rediscovering her favorite books from her childhood all over again with her kids. Her next project is Spirit Ascendancy: Book 3 of the Gateway Trilogy, due for release in November of 2015.

1 comment:

  1. I just finished the other 3 books and loved them! I will have to pick this one up. Thanks.