GtPGKogPYT4p61R1biicqBXsUzo" /> Google+ Book Review: Feast of Chaos (Four Feasts Till Darkness) (Volume 3) by Christian A. Brown | I Smell Sheep

Tuesday, January 2, 2018

Book Review: Feast of Chaos (Four Feasts Till Darkness) (Volume 3) by Christian A. Brown

Feast of Chaos (Four Feasts Till Darkness) (Volume 3)
by Christian A. Brown
September 23, 2016
Publisher: Forsythia Press
Pages: 698
ASIN: B01M1ESQ3Y ISBN: 9780994014429
Menos has been destroyed. No corner of the realm of Geadhain is safe from the Black Queen’s hunger. Zionae—or the Great Dreamer, as she has been called in ancient tongues—has a thirst that cannot be quenched until all of Geadhain burns and bleeds. She preys on the minds of weak men and exploits human folly for an unhuman end. She cannot be defeated in her current state, but the answer to her downfall may lie in the land of her past.

It is with this aim that a Daughter of Fate, Morigan, and her brave and true companions venture to the mysterious Pandemonia, the land of chaos itself. Ancient secrets and even older power lurk in its swamps and deserts. Life itself becomes uncertain, but the Hunters of Fate have no choice: Pandemonia must give up its secrets if they want to find the Black Queen’s weakness.

Elsewhere in the realm, alliances form and break. Dead men rise and heroes fall. Eod prepares for war. In hiding, Lila, the bearer of its destruction, will be given a chance to atone and answer for her sins. Will her actions save Eod, or has she damned it with her crimes?

This is the third book in the dark, gritty, epic fantasy series. Christian A. Brown continues the delicate dance of progressing the possible destruction of Geadhain with the struggle to save it. Daughter of Fate, Morigan is back with Caenith as they lead their pack into another round of excitement, battles, success and emotional revelations. It grows more complicated when they’re split into two packs and their goals switched up. No matter, they forge on to stay ahead of the Black Queen and her followers.

But theirs isn’t the only arc in this novel. There is Lila (Magnus’s queen) and his adopted son/her lover, Erik. Also, the immortal Everfair king, Magnus, Gustavius, the Iron Queen, Gloriatrix, and many others. 

Besides a wolf shapeshifter, Caenith, there are blood eaters, who normally look terrifying and horrible, but can disguise themselves as human women. There are other monsters too. The story begins with the three sisters (crone, woman, and child) and it ends with them. There are several sub-plots, just like in the previous two books, that the author sums up in the finale, concluding all the plots into one. And yet, we sense there is more to this story—that it hasn’t ended.

The characters are well-developed and drive this fantasy series. There are battles, quests, heroes, and villains. Romance, death, betrayal, and new beginnings. Everything a fantasy fan looks for in their books. If George RR Martin had a child with JRR Tolkien, this series might be the result.

Review: Feast of Fates (Four Feasts Till Darkness) (Volume 1)
Review: Feast of Dreams (Four Feasts Till Darkness #2)

I give Feast of Chaos (Book Three of The Four Feasts Until Darkness Series) 5 sheep.

Pamela K. Kinney

About the Author:
Bestselling author of the critically acclaimed Feast of Fates, Christian A. Brown received a Kirkus star in 2014 for the first novel in his genre-changing Four Feasts Till Darkness series. He has appeared on Newstalk 1010, AM640, Daytime Rogers, and Get Bold Today with LeGrande Green. He actively writes a blog about his mother’s journey with cancer and on gender issues in the media. A lover of the weird and wonderful, Brown considers himself an eccentric with a talent for cat-whispering.

No comments:

Post a Comment