GtPGKogPYT4p61R1biicqBXsUzo" /> Google+ Book Review: Knight of Swords (Knights of the Tarot #4 of 4) by Nina Mason | I Smell Sheep

Sunday, September 16, 2018

Book Review: Knight of Swords (Knights of the Tarot #4 of 4) by Nina Mason

Knight of Swords (Knights of the Tarot #4)
by Nina Mason
May 15, 2018
245 pages
Finn MacKnight, a womanizing bartender in New Orleans, has no clue how the blood-red moon that appears in the sky one night (while he’s having yet another meaningless sexual encounter) is about to change his life in unbelievable ways. Then, the creepy-yet-caring uncle who adopted him as a baby, reveals the astonishing truth: Finn is a faery—an Avalonian drone, to be precise—and is to lead a rebellion in another world—against the wicked faery sorceress Morgan Le Fay.

In the thrilling adventure that follows, Finn meets Wella Lyon, who teaches him the ways of the ancient Celtic warriors, how to call forth his inner wolf, and the true meaning of love and intimacy.

But will the lessons Finn learns from Wella, the Druids of Brocaliande, and the knights from the previous books in this magical series prepare him to lead a coup d’√©tat against Queen Morgan and her army of vampires? Only time...and an ancient prophecy...will tell.

Knight of Swords is the thrilling conclusion to Nina Mason’s four-part Knights of the Tarot series. I would characterize the series as an erotic combination of historical fiction, mythology, and fantasy. Each book chronicles the lusty adventures of a Knight of the Tarot; effectively a knight in rebellion against the malevolent ruling queen of Avalon Morgan LeFay and her dark and sadistic militaristic right hand the Duke of Cumberland.

The Knight of Swords is Finn MacKnight, a promiscuous bartender the rebellion druid faction has been hiding in plain sight in New Orleans. In this story, Finn is called to fulfill his destiny as leader of the rebellion. The reluctant Finn travels from Hitherworld to Thitherworld to learn the art of combat and embrace his magic. Helping realize his fate is Wella Lyon, a beautifully fierce captain of the rebellion. The chemistry between the two is immediate and combustible.

I have really enjoyed this series. It has something for every reader. It’s smart, sexy, and highly imaginative. I enjoyed the aspects of Celtic mythology, runes, and druidic magic. I particularly like Mason’s lyrical descriptions of whisky, my all-time favourite beverage. I highly recommend this series to fans of both paranormal romance and historical fiction. It’s definitely romance for the thinking woman.

Review: Knight of Wands (Knights of the Tarot Book 1)
Review: Knight of Cups (Knights of the Tarot Book 2)
Review: Knight of Pentacles (Knights of the Tarot, #3) 

Four Sheep

Bianca Greenwood

About the author:
Nina Mason is a hopeful romantic with strong affinities for history, mythology, and the metaphysical. She strives to write the same kind of books she loves to read: those that entertain, edify, educate, and enlighten. When not writing, Nina works as a communications consultant, doll maker, and home stager. Born and raised in Southern California, she now lives in Woodstock, Georgia, with her husband, teenage daughter, two rescue cats, and a Westie named Robert.

In addition to Dark and Stormy Knight, she is the author of the following books: Starry Knight (Knights of Avalon #1), Devil in Duke's Clothing (Royal Pains #1), The Duke's Bedeviled Bride (Royal Pains #2), The Devil's Masquerade (Royal Pains #3), The Queen of Swords, and The Tin Man.


Join Nina's mailing list and be the first to hear about specials and releases:

No comments:

Post a Comment