GtPGKogPYT4p61R1biicqBXsUzo" /> Google+ Book Reviews: Becoming his Monster (Playing with Monsters #3) by Amelia Hutchins | I Smell Sheep

Paranormal reviews of books, movies, comics with author interviews and giveaways we love urban fantasy, romance, science fiction, horror, fantasy, mysteries

Monday, February 11, 2019

Book Reviews: Becoming his Monster (Playing with Monsters #3) by Amelia Hutchins

Becoming his Monster (Playing with Monsters #3)
by Amelia Hutchins
January 1, 2019
347 pages
Sacrifice your soul? 
Die to protect those you love? 
Come back as something the world hasn’t seen since the dawn of mankind? 
Make those who hurt me wish the Gods had never created them? 
I’m still working on this one…
Are you ready to play? I’m coming back. I’m more, darker, deadlier, and I’m pissed. 
Heaven has fallen, Hell has risen and the walls that once protected man from monsters are down. Foe’s become friends, enemies become lovers, and this world is thrown into chaos unlike anything it’s ever seen before. I’m ready to play now, I’m ready to win. 

This is the third book in the award winning Playing with Monsters series.
Reading order for those who are following the story-line and want the full experience. 
Fighting Destiny 
Taunting Destiny 
Escaping Destiny 
Seducing Destiny 
A Demon’s Dark Embrace 
Playing with Monsters 
Unraveling Destiny 
Sleeping with Monsters 
Claiming the Dragon King 
Oh, Holy Knight - in Such Violent Delight Anthology 
Becoming his Monster 
Series that standalone 
A Guardian’s Diary series 
Darkest before Dawn 
Death Before Dawn 
Midnight Rising (Coming soon)

Becoming his Monster is the third installment in Amelia Hutchins’ Playing with Monsters series. The series is a crossover with two of Hutchins’ other series, Fae Chronicles and Elite Guards. All three series take place in the same universe and characters overlap. An additional series, Wicked Knights will also intersect with the Fae Chronicles series, the first installment is due out in 2019. Wicked Knights was teased in late 2018 with the short story “Oh Holy Knight” within the holiday-themed Such Violent Delights anthology. Hutchins suggests a cross-series reading order for her books. I highly recommend new readers follow the order to maximize their enjoyment. Hutchins’ series are totally binge-worthy.

Becoming his Monster marks Lena’s return to the land of the living. Her adjustment is rough. She has erected walls of protection and is projecting the persona of a cold, uncaring assassin. She is struggling with a potential reconciliation with Lucian as she blames him for her current circumstances. The book is rife with angst.

This third installment is garnering a substantial amount of criticism on Goodreads for being repetitive and insubstantial. While some of the book is repetitive, and at times I found Lena manufacturing reasons to be pissed at the world, I still enjoyed it. But then again, I’m loyal to a fault. I’m a total sucker of Hutchins’ story telling; fierce female mains, creative dense plotlines, and over-the-top sensuality. While this may not be my favourite of Hutchins’ releases, I think this series, and universe, still has plenty of steam.

There’s a final, fourth installment planned for this series. I look forward to Hutchins resuming her characters and her wildly creative universe. I’m also greatly anticipating Wicked Knights for a change of pace.

Review: Playing with Monsters (Playing with Monsters #1)

Four Sheep

Bianca Greenwood

About the Author:
Amelia lives in the great Pacific Northwest with her family. When not writing, she can be found on her author page, hanging out with fans, or dreaming up new twisting plots. She's an avid reader of everything paranormal romance.

No comments:

Post a Comment