GtPGKogPYT4p61R1biicqBXsUzo" /> Google+ Book Review: Eighth Grave After Dark (Charley Davidson Book 8) by Darynda Jones | I Smell Sheep

Saturday, May 30, 2015

Book Review: Eighth Grave After Dark (Charley Davidson Book 8) by Darynda Jones

Eighth Grave After Dark (Charley Davidson Book 8)
by Darynda Jones
Pages: 304
Sometimes I wonder if the purpose of my life is to serve as a cautionary tale to others.

Charley Davidson has enough going on without having to worry about twelve hellhounds hot on her trail. She is, after all, incredibly pregnant and feeling like she could pop at any moment. But, just her luck, twelve deadly beasts from hell have chosen this time to escape onto our plane, and they've made Charley their target. And so she takes refuge at the only place she thinks they can't get to her: the grounds of an abandoned convent. Of course, if hellhounds aren't enough, Charley also has a new case to hold her attention: the decades-old murder of a newly-vowed nun she keeps seeing in the shadows of the convent.

Add to that the still unsolved murder of her father, the strange behavior of her husband, and Charley's tendency to attract the, shall we say, undead, and she has her hands full...but also tied.

Charley tends to get herself into trouble even when she has the best of intentions. Act first, think later should be her motto according to those around her! She just wants to help those that need it whether it’s a client or a ghost. Who would have thought that helping people would get her in so much trouble?

Hilarious as always, Darynda once again brought her A game to this book. When I first started to read her books it was on a recommendation from another author that I loved and wasn’t sure if I wanted to invest my time in a new author but thought what the heck! So glad I did because this is one of my favorite series and I always hate when the book ends and the wait begins for the next one. Quirky and funny are only two of the words used to describe Charley Davidson the lead character in this book. My favorite parts of each of Darynda’s books are the slogans at the beginning of each chapter. She really should make t-shirt and bumper stickers out of them.

Getting 5 sheep

Denise B

About the Author:

NYTimes and USA Today Bestselling Author Darynda Jones has won numerous awards for her work, including a prestigious Golden Heart®, a Rebecca, two Hold Medallions, a RITA ®, and a Daphne du Maurier, and she has received stellar reviews from dozens of publications including starred reviews from Publisher’s Weekly, Booklist, and the Library Journal. As a born storyteller, Darynda grew up spinning tales of dashing damsels and heroes in distress for any unfortunate soul who happened by, annoying man and beast alike, and she is ever so grateful for the opportunity to carry on that tradition. She currently has two series with St. Martin’s Press: The Charley Davidson Series and the Darklight Trilogy. She lives in the Land of Enchantment, also known as New Mexico, with her husband of almost 30 years and two beautiful sons, the Mighty, Mighty Jones Boys.

1 comment:

  1. I have loved all the books in this series! I am anxious to read this one also but like you hate that it may be a while before another is out. Did you get the feeling that there will be more to come or that this may be a finale?