GtPGKogPYT4p61R1biicqBXsUzo" /> Google+ Book Review: Sense the Darkness (The Dark Series Book 2) by L A Wild | I Smell Sheep

Friday, May 22, 2015

Book Review: Sense the Darkness (The Dark Series Book 2) by L A Wild

Sense the Darkness (The Dark Series Book 2)
by L A Wild

Kindle Edition, 305 pages
March 28th 2015
What if the most terrifying thing imaginable lived inside you? 

I’ve made a mistake. And it’s a big one. After my ex-best friend stabs me with my own blade then topples us both through the portal— leaving Glasgow overrun with ghouls and other evil creatures—I land in the middle of my worst nightmare. Burnt soil stretches out to my sides, my heels teeter on the edge of a sheer cliff that drops into nothingness, and a hoard of humans rush at me with spears and axes. I’m pretty sure they want my head on a pike.

Worse? Someone has tampered with my memories. How that’s possible, I have no clue. But if I had to guess, I’d say Black is behind it all. Tumultuous, deadly, our insane chemistry borders on explosive. If only he’d get rid of the goddess he’s been banging.
My life is nothing like it used to be. Somehow, it twisted into a sick mess of family secrets, my sister’s murderer, and a crumbling wall inside my mind, which sets a homicidal psychopath loose on the world.

It is recommended book one, Chance the Darkness, to be read prior to Sense the Darkness

Book 3 is scheduled for release July/Aug 2015

Sense the Darkness picks up where Chance the Darkness left us — high and dry. The cliff-hanger conclusion of book one demands the reader seize and devour book two. Sense packs the same thrilling action and all-encompassing plot line as Chance giving this new series incredible momentum. Book two opens with Summer trapped in another world, perilously close to death. Shortly after her haphazard escape from the other-worldly portal, Summer finds she’s not same girl. Unable to control the changes in and around her, she is consistently one step behind. Pursued by a barrage of vile villains, both sexy and gruesome, the reader starts to see Summer’s slow, but steady transformation. Steadfastly undeterred on her path to find her sister’s killer, Summer tries to desperately cling to independence while making deals with some pretty devilish characters. The magnetic pull of the ever-present, seemingly all-powerful Warwick Black is making it increasingly difficult for Summer to maintain her autonomy. Given that Black regularly generates more questions than answers, Summer is understandably wary of her handsome and mysterious benefactor. Nevertheless, the tension between these two is explosive and Summer’s resolve is weakening. 

I loved this book, as I did the first. It’s been a long time since I’ve been this excited about a new series. I love the setting of urban-fantastic Glasgow. I adore the characters, even the seemingly unredeemable Marinus. But what I love most about this series is its creativity. I have no idea what’s going to happen next. It’s puzzling, riveting, and wonderful. I would be remiss if I didn’t mention that there were times I had serious questions; like how do the residents of quaint neighbourhood not notice a hoard of wraith-like creatures, or a giant dragon? But, these books are just so damn fantastic, I’m willing to shut off my over-analysis, as least temporarily.

If you’re a fan of urban fantasy and you’re looking for an amazingly entertaining read, start this series. A word of caution, however, book three isn’t due out until July. And I’m dying.

Review: Chance the Darkness (book #1)

5 Effusive Sheep

Bianca Greenwood

About the Author:
L A Wild is an urban fantasy novelist who grew up in England, then later lived in Greece, Glasgow and Milton Keynes before moving to Australia in 2006. She is the creator and writer behind the Dark Series.

No comments:

Post a Comment