GtPGKogPYT4p61R1biicqBXsUzo" /> Google+ Book Review: Fractured Faery Trilogy by Helen Harper | I Smell Sheep

Sunday, December 9, 2018

Book Review: Fractured Faery Trilogy by Helen Harper

Fractured Faery Trilogy
by Helen Harper
Box of Frogs (Fractured Faery #1)
July 5, 2018 - 282 pages
Quiver of Cobras (Fractured Faery #2)
July 5, 2018 - 408 pages
Skulk of Foxes (Fractured Faery #3)
August 1, 2018 - 320 pages
Book 1 blurb
One corpse. Several bizarre looking attackers. Some very strange magical powers. And a severe bout of amnesia. Madrona is not having a great week. It’s going to be okay though. All she has to do is find out who she really is, protect a soap star from being attacked by a stalker and work out why so many people seem so afraid of her. Because surely she’s a good person. Right? This is book one of a new urban fantasy trilogy and does contain an edge of your seat cliffhanger!

Fractured Faery is author Helen Harper’s most recent series. Released summer 2018, I read the trilogy this fall. To date, I’ve never been disappointed by Harper story. Her work is stellar. I highly recommend this series, this author as well as two previous series, Highland Magic and The Lazy Girl’s Guide to Magic.

Fractured Faery is an urban fantasy centered on Madrona, a young fae woman of considerable power who also happens to have amnesia. Madrona’s misadventures begin when she wakes up on golf course beside a dead body. Madrona must unravel the person she was before she can fully realize who she wants to be. As is typical in a Harper vehicle, Madrona has a tenuous ally in Morgan, the gorgeous fae bar owner. Madrona and Morgan share a complicated past, except Madrona doesn’t remember any of it.

This series has it all; fantasy, suspense, action, romance, and well-crafted characters. Fractured faery is fun and funny.

While I preferred the first two installments to the third, I’d still give the overall trilogy five sheep.

Bianca Greenwood

About the Author:
After teaching English literature in the UK, Japan and Malaysia, Helen Harper left behind the world of education following the worldwide success of her Blood Destiny series of books. She is a professional member of the Alliance of Independent Authors and writes full time although she still fits in creative writing workshops with schools along with volunteering to teach reading to a group of young Myanmar refugees. That’s not to mention the procession of stray cats which seem to find their way to her door!

No comments:

Post a Comment