GtPGKogPYT4p61R1biicqBXsUzo" /> Google+ Spotlight: Darker Days: A Collection of Dark Fiction by Kenneth W. Cain | I Smell Sheep

Paranormal reviews of books, movies, comics with author interviews and giveaways we love urban fantasy, romance, science fiction, horror, fantasy, mysteries

Friday, December 7, 2018

Spotlight: Darker Days: A Collection of Dark Fiction by Kenneth W. Cain

“Darker Days, the latest collection of short stories by Kenneth W. Cain, delivers on its title’s promise. From the very first story readers are dragged into seemingly ordinary situations that serve as cover for dark secrets. Ranging from subtle horror to downright terror, from science fiction to weird fantasy, Cain demonstrates a breadth of styles that keeps you off balance as you move from one story to the next. There is something for everyone in this collection–as long as you don’t want to sleep at night!”
– JG Faherty, author of The Cure, Carnival of Fear, and The Burning Time.

by Kenneth W. Cain
December 7, 2018
203 pgs.
Crystal Lake Publishing
Genre: Monster fiction, Dark fiction short stories, Horror, Speculative fiction anthology
The author of the short story collections These Old Tales, Fresh Cut Tales, and Embers presents Darker Days: A Collection of Dark Fiction. In his youth, Cain developed a sense of wonderment owed in part to TV shows like The Twilight Zone, The Outer Limits, One Step Beyond, and Alfred Hitchcock Presents. Now Cain seeks the same dark overtones in his writing.

There’s a little something for every reader within this collection. These 26 short speculative stories arise from a void, escaping shadows that ebb and weave through minds like worms, planting the larvae that live just under the skin, thriving upon fear. These are Cain’s darker days.

In this collection, Cain features stories from the Old West, of past lives and future days, the living and the dead, new and unique monsters as well as fresh takes on those of lore. Once more he tackles themes of loss and grief and the afterlife, always exploring the greater unknown. In “The Sanguine Wars,” Cain takes us to a future where soldiers are made to endure the horrors of war. He explores the complexities of global warming and what lengths men and women alike sink to in “The Reassignment Project.” And, as often is the case, he ends on a lighter note, with “Lenny’s New Eyes” and “A Very Different Sort of Apocalypse.”

When the darkness comes, embrace it. Let it wrap you up in cold. Don’t worry, it’s not your time…yet.


▪ “A Ring For His Own”
▪ “Heirloom”
▪ “Rust Colored Rain”
▪ “Prey”
▪ “Passing Time”
▪ “What Mama Needs”
▪ “My Brother Bit Your Honor Roll Student”
▪ “Outcasts: The Sick and Dying 1 – Henry Wentworth”
▪ “The Sanguine Wars”
▪ “The Hunted”
▪ “Her Living Corals”
▪ “Puppet Strings”
▪ “The Trying of Master William”
▪ “By The Crescent Moon”
▪ “Mantid”
▪ “The Underside of Time and Space”
▪ “Outcasts: The Sick and Dying 2 – Gemma Nyle”
▪ “The Griffon”
▪ “Adaptable”
▪ “When They Come”
▪ “The Reassignment Project”
▪ “Presage”
▪ “One Hopeless Night by a Clan Fire”
▪ “Lenny’s New Eyes”
▪ “Outcasts: The Sick and Dying 3 – Anna Kilpatrick”
▪ “A Very Different Sort of Apocalypse”

About the Author:

Writer/Editor/Graphic Designer
Kenneth W. Cain first got the itch for storytelling during his formative years in the suburbs of Chicago, where he got to listen to his grandfather spin tales by the glow of a barrel fire. But it was a reading of Baba Yaga that grew his desire for dark fiction. Shows like The Twilight Zone, The Outer Limits, Alfred Hitchcock Presents, and One Step Beyond furthered that sense of wonder for the unknown, and he’s been writing ever since.

Cain is the author of The Saga of I trilogy, United States of the Dead, the short story collections These Old Tales and Fresh Cut Tales, and the forthcoming Embers: A Collection of Dark Fiction. Writing, reading, fine art, graphic design, and Cardinals baseball are but a few of his passions. Cain now resides in Chester County, Pennsylvania with his wife and two children.

No comments:

Post a Comment