GtPGKogPYT4p61R1biicqBXsUzo" /> Google+ Book Review: Feast of Darkness Part 1 (Four Feasts till Darkness, Book 4) by Christian A. Brown | I Smell Sheep

Monday, December 17, 2018

Book Review: Feast of Darkness Part 1 (Four Feasts till Darkness, Book 4) by Christian A. Brown

Feast of Darkness Part 1 (Four Feasts till Darkness, Book 4)
by Christian A. Brown
September 25, 2018
Publisher: Forsythia Press
ASIN: B07HD7KLWB ISBN: 9780994014436
“The end of the world begins at the far end of the world”

Throughout the world of Geadhain, for mortals, Immortals, and Dreamers alike, the tides of war have ebbed and flowed for eons. For Morigan and Caenith and their courageous companions, that tide has become a tsunami as they continue their treacherous journey into the strange shifting land of Pandemonia—where they are near to discovering a mythic relic to use against the Black Queen. Meanwhile, the citizens of Eod and the surviving elements of Menos ready their shaky alliance in a last stand against Death and her ghoulish unliving hordes; while King Magnus, Queen Lila, and Erik abandon humanity’s last bastion and venture north into a hostile world scoured by shrieking blizzards and walls of ice en route to their own confrontation with the enraged spirit of Winter herself and a historic evil embodied by the monstrous Kinlords.

Across sundry fantastical landscapes, familiar heroes are edging toward individual destinies that even the Sisters Three are unable to fully discern, as Fate continues to weave and reweave its murky tapestry. Nothing is certain except that should the Wolf and the Fawn fail in their looming apocalyptic clash with the mad king himself, all will be lost for the people of Geadhain.

In this fourth book in the fantasy series, we continued with Morigan’s story, adding new characters, not in the first three novels. It begins with a recap, to catch you up or remind the reader of events in the past books.

Kinlord sacrifices a captive seeking a bargain with the spirit of Winter. Swears the lives of his first three sons, their blood spilled in the same chamber his ancestors first outwitted the original keepers of the North. From there, the novel goes on to the Sisters of Fate in the middle of the assault on Camp Fury to defeating Amunai in the end. Most of all, we get the thread of Morigan and her mate, Caenith, as they search for a weapon to stop the Black Queen. So many subplots within the pages to get lost in, all that are part of the main story.

Christian A. Brown mixes fantasy with science fiction, steampunk, and even horror, so this book, like the others, is a complex mixture that keeps you on your toes. It is not boring. I do warn, even with the glossary in the beginning and the recap, you should read the other three in order.

If you enjoyed Tolkien’s Lord of the Rings and George RR Martin’s fantasy series, along with the science fiction series of Dune, you will enjoy this series. With winter almost here, this series will make for great reading.

Review: Feast of Fates (Four Feasts Till Darkness) (Volume 1)
Review: Feast of Dreams (Four Feasts Till Darkness #2)
Review: Feast of Chaos (Four Feasts Till Darkness) (Volume 3)

I give Feast of Darkness (Part 1) 5 sheep.

Reviewed by Pamela K. Kinney

About the Author:
Bestselling author of the critically acclaimed Feast of Fates, Christian A. Brown received a Kirkus star in 2014 for the first novel in his genre-changing Four Feasts Till Darkness series. He has appeared on Newstalk 1010, AM640, Daytime Rogers, and Get Bold Today with LeGrande Green. He actively writes a blog about his mother’s journey with cancer and on gender issues in the media. A lover of the weird and wonderful, Brown considers himself an eccentric with a talent for cat-whispering.

No comments:

Post a Comment