GtPGKogPYT4p61R1biicqBXsUzo" /> Google+ Spoiler-free Book Review: Dirt on Ninth Grave (Charley Davidson Book 9) by Darynda Jones | I Smell Sheep

Thursday, January 28, 2016

Spoiler-free Book Review: Dirt on Ninth Grave (Charley Davidson Book 9) by Darynda Jones

Dirt on Ninth Grave (Charley Davidson Book 9)
by Darynda Jones
January 12, 2016
St. Martin's Press

Pages: 337
In a small village in New York lives Jane Doe, a girl with no memory of who she is or where she came from. So when she is working at a diner and slowly begins to realize she can see dead people, she's more than a little taken aback. Stranger still are the people entering her life. They seem to know things about her. Things they hide with lies and half-truths. Soon, she senses something far darker. A force that wants to cause her harm, she is sure of it. Her saving grace comes in the form of a new friend she feels she can confide in and the fry cook, a devastatingly handsome man whose smile is breathtaking and touch is scalding. He stays close, and she almost feels safe with him around.

But no one can outrun their past, and the more lies that swirl around her-even from her new and trusted friends-the more disoriented she becomes, until she is confronted by a man who claims to have been sent to kill her. Sent by the darkest force in the universe. A force that absolutely will not stop until she is dead. Thankfully, she has a Rottweiler. But that doesn't help in her quest to find her identity and recover what she's lost. That will take all her courage and a touch of the power she feels flowing like electricity through her veins. She almost feels sorry for him. The devil in blue jeans. The disarming fry cook who lies with every breath he takes. She will get to the bottom of what he knows if it kills her. Or him. Either way.

Way to keep it fresh! Darynda Jones did an excellent job of creating a new story without recycling the same old same old. This story takes place in Sleepy Hollow where Janey Doerr wakes up and has no idea who she is or where she came from. Little by little she figures out she isn’t like everyone else. She can see dead people! It appears that many of the people around her know more than they are letting on about who she is but no matter what she tries to do, she can’t get them to spill.

Loved this book! I find sometimes when a book series goes on for a while the author is unable to come up with new and fresh stories. Not the case for Jones. She couldn’t have done a better job of giving her fans something new and setting us up for the next book that she should be even better than this one.

Getting 5 sheep

Denise B

About the Author:

NYTimes and USA Today Bestselling Author Darynda Jones has won numerous awards for her work, including a prestigious Golden Heart®, a Rebecca, two Hold Medallions, a RITA ®, and a Daphne du Maurier, and she has received stellar reviews from dozens of publications including starred reviews from Publisher’s Weekly, Booklist, and the Library Journal. As a born storyteller, Darynda grew up spinning tales of dashing damsels and heroes in distress for any unfortunate soul who happened by, annoying man and beast alike, and she is ever so grateful for the opportunity to carry on that tradition. She currently has two series with St. Martin’s Press: The Charley Davidson Series and the Darklight Trilogy. She lives in the Land of Enchantment, also known as New Mexico, with her husband of almost 30 years and two beautiful sons, the Mighty, Mighty Jones Boys.

1 comment:

  1. I love this series. Have read 7 of them so I guess I'd better get back on that train!