GtPGKogPYT4p61R1biicqBXsUzo" /> Google+ Book Review: Shadowspell Academy (The Culling Trials Book 1) by Shannon Mayer & K.F. Breene | I Smell Sheep

Paranormal reviews of books, movies, comics with author interviews and giveaways we love urban fantasy, romance, science fiction, horror, fantasy, mysteries

Wednesday, April 10, 2019

Book Review: Shadowspell Academy (The Culling Trials Book 1) by Shannon Mayer & K.F. Breene

Shadowspell Academy (The Culling Trials Book 1) 
by Shannon Mayer & K.F. Breene
April 9, 2019
Pages: 180
You Don’t Choose The Academy. The Academy Chooses You.

I had no idea how those words would change my life. Or how they’d changed my life already…

Until the day the most dangerous man I’ve ever met waltzed onto my farm and left us a death sentence.

In an invitation.

My younger brother has been chosen for the prestigious, secret magical school hidden within the folds of our mundane world. A place so dangerous, they don’t guarantee you’ll make it out alive.

If he doesn't go our entire family will be killed.

It’s the same invitation my older brother received three years ago—the same place he mysteriously died.

The academy has already killed one sibling. I’ll be damned if they take another.

I do the only thing an older sister can: chop off my hair, strap on two bras to flatten the girls, and take my brother’s place.

Magic and monsters are real. Assassins are coming for me, and the dead are prone to rise. What’s a girl faking it as a boy supposed to do? That’s right—beat the academy at its own game.

Or die trying.

Wild was shocked when a strange man showed up at her farm with an envelope for her younger brother, one eerily similar to the one that her older brother had received and who had died at this school. Determined not to let her younger brother die too, Wild sets out to become a boy and save her family from more tragedy.

This is a definite binge read book, so be prepared to read from cover to cover! The characters each brought something special to the story that made you want to know each of them better. A weird bunch of misfits each with their own gifts; shapeshifter, necromancer, seer, vampire, goblin and warlock each trial will show off their skills. If you are looking for your next new series this is one you don’t want to miss.

Book Review: Shadowspell Academy (The Culling Trials book 2) 
Book Review: Shadowspell Academy (The Culling Trials book 3)

5 sheep


About the author:

Amazon Author Page
Shannon Mayer lives in the southwestern tip of Canada with her husband, son, and numerous animals. When not writing she spends her time staring at immense amounts of rain, herding old people (similar to herding cats) and attempting to stay out of trouble. Especially that last is difficult for her.

She is the USA Today Bestselling author of the The Rylee Adamson Novels, The Elemental Series, The Nevermore Trilogy, A Celtic Legacy series and the Venom Trilogy. Please visit her website for more information on her novels. 

About the Author:
K.F. Breene is a USA Today Bestselling and Top 10 Kindle All-Star author of paranormal romance, urban fantasy and fantasy novels. With two million books sold, when she's not penning stories about magic and what goes bump in the night, she's sipping wine and planning shenanigans. She lives in Northern California with her husband, two children and out of work treadmill.

No comments:

Post a Comment