GtPGKogPYT4p61R1biicqBXsUzo" /> Google+ Book Review: Stone Cold (Broken Magic #2) by Devon Monk | I Smell Sheep

Thursday, March 27, 2014

Book Review: Stone Cold (Broken Magic #2) by Devon Monk

Stone Cold (Broken Magic #2)
By: Devon Monk

Kindle Edition, 368 pages
Release Date: April 1st 2014 by Roc

This two-book series is set in the Allie Beckstrom universe. It takes place three years after the end of the Allie Beckstrom books. While it stands on its own and can be read without having to read the Allie Beckstrom novels, the experience may be even richer if both series are read.

The latest Broken Magic novel from national bestselling author Devon Monk.

Marked by Life and Death magic, Shame Flynn and Terric Conley are “breakers”—those who can use magic to its full extent. Most of the time, they can barely stand each other, but they know they have to work together to defeat a common enemy—rogue magic user Eli Collins.

Backed by the government, Eli is trying to use magic as a weapon by carving spells into the flesh of innocents and turning them into brainless walking bombs. To stop him, Shame and Terric will need to call on their magic, even as it threatens to consume them—because the price they must pay to wield Life and Death could change the very fate of the world...and magic itself.

While I have read some of the Allie Beckstrom books, I have not yet read book one of this spinoff series; however, that was just fine as there was wonderful world building and flashbacks to bring us into the current adventure without that feeling of being lost or unable to relate to the characters.

Stone Cold is told primarily from Shame's point of view. He has been marked by Death magic or more accurately is now death and is continuously, as well as dangerously close to losing control of this hunger to eat life whether this is human, plant, or animal. In the meantime allies are being kidnapped and tortured with spells turning them into walking weapons and soul compliments are in danger of being killed. Eli is this adventure's primary nutbunny baddie, he is backed by the government and is using evil magic to claim worldwide superiority and produce the ultimate weapons for the highest bidder. In the meantime Shame must work to save his allies and fellow soul compliments as he suffers trying to hold back death and not harm those around him. And adjust to the relationship he has with Terric who is his soul compliment and marked by Life. 

Stone Cold is full of action and adventure, heartache, discovery, and is everything you could want in an outstanding urban fantasy read. It is a rollercoaster ride that is a delight for the reader to dive into and is one of those books that was very difficult to put down once the journey began. The storytelling continues to be superb, is fresh, and very well written. I have definitely added book one to my reading list and am looking forward to the next installment in this series on pins and needles to see where Shame's and Terric's adventures take them next. I received this book via NetGalley.

5 Sheep


About the Author:
Devon Monk has one husband, two sons, and a dog named Mojo. She writes the Allie Beckstrom urban fantasy series and the Age of Steam steampunk series, knits silly things, and lives in Oregon. Find out more at.


  1. I liked the Allie Beckstrom books! Going to have to check this one out!

  2. I have this series on my wishlist, someday ...