GtPGKogPYT4p61R1biicqBXsUzo" /> Google+ Spotlight: The My Brother's Keeper Trilogy by Adrienne Wilder + giveaway | I Smell Sheep

Sunday, March 30, 2014

Spotlight: The My Brother's Keeper Trilogy by Adrienne Wilder + giveaway

There is a lot of good m/m out there. Most are contemporary romances, but there has been a large increase in paranormal romances too. Most m/m readers want HEA stories and that is what the market caters too. I enjoy a good HEA but I also like stories that go to dark places and have a supernatural twist, and that is a lot harder to find. Lucky for me Adrienne Wilder's books fill that need. 

I can't officially review this trilogy because I was one of the editors, but it is an emotionally intense roller-coaster of a ride. Be warned, the sex scenes fall into the erotic category. 

This three book series features a strong romance between Ellis and Jon. There is also an amazing and touching relationship between Ellis and his mentally disabled brother Rudy. Rudy is a main character and his disability is beautifully and respectfully portrayed. Ellis has spent his life protecting Rudy from the outside world, but in an unexpected twist you learn it has always been the other way around.

The story goes to some dark places with our heroes (Ellis, Jon, Rudy) and you will have your heart removed and stomped on (in the good way) before it is over.

Here is how Adrienne described the trilogy:
"People have asked me to describe this male romance series. It's a rough road into contemporary/suspense and a left turn into [WTF].
That's about all I can do to explain it. If you like Dean Koontz type books, this one should be right up your alley"

(Adrienne is also a cover artist and created all three covers)

The My Brother's Keeper Trilogy

The town of Gilford has a Big and Terrible secret hidden in the ground.

Infecting those it touches.

Exploiting their darkness.
Consuming their souls.
It’s hungry. It’s vile. It’s evil.
And it wants out.

All books are full-length novels and must be read in order. All books are available now.

Book One: The First Three Rules
amazon link
Marshal Jon Foster lost his purpose and his sanity the day he saw the image of his dead brother. The distraction saved Jon’s life but cost the lives of innocent people including his best friend and partner. It was a price for survival Jon couldn’t live with and was sure he’d never understand.

Driven by grief and guilt he tried to escape his past by fleeing to a small town in the middle of nowhere. Only instead of peace, the memories festered.

Then the offer of a stick of gum from a stranger changes Jon’s life and puts him on a road out of the nightmare he’s trapped in.

Ellis Harper has lived the past twenty years isolated from the outside world and sole caretaker for his mentally disabled brother, Rudy. While Ellis loves his brother, he longs for a life he’ll never be able to have.

Shut away, his days consist of chores, endless cartoons, and games of Go Fish. A world that seemed to have no end until an innocent misunderstanding turns Ellis and his brother into a target for a town bully.

It’s a fight Ellis can never win on his own but thanks to a chance meeting with a stranger, he doesn’t have to.

What begins as a new journey in love for both men quickly unfolds into something neither of them could have ever imagined.

Book Two: Rule Four and Five
amazon buy link

A new chance at life comes in many forms: For Jon it’s a family made with Ellis and his brother Rudy. For Ellis, it’s Jon, who has brought the outside world into the protective life he’s built for his mentally disabled brother.

Together they have discovered true happiness and what it means to be loved.

Then one perfect disaster after the other pushes Jon’s resolve to its limit and Ellis over the edge. If they have any chance of saving what they’ve built both men must face their deepest fears.

It’s a test Jon thought he’d already passed and one Ellis never imagined he’d have to face. The journey will forever change who they are and redefine who they were meant to be.

It has to happen.

And all things happen for a reason.

Book Three: The Final Rule
amazon buy link

Ellis and Jon need answers.
What is there to understand?

Why does it have to happen?

And what reason could ever justify losing those you love?

If only there was a simple answer. But the more questions they ask, the farther they must travel into the darkness and the things they see are not human, or even possible.

They are, in fact, Big and Terrible.

The plague is rising in Gilford. To stop it from spreading Ellis will have to embrace his destiny and Jon will have to let him go. Both men must be willing to lose everything in order to save the innocent.

It is, after all, rule number six.

About the Author:
City of Dragons Portfolio (this site has images of gay sex)

3 winners will win the whole trilogy (book 1-3)

10 winners will win book 1
a Rafflecopter giveaway


  1. I was like #13 on Amazon. :)

  2. thanks! you will love these books! Good luck in the giveaway:)