GtPGKogPYT4p61R1biicqBXsUzo" /> Google+ Book Reviews: The Herald (The Sundering #6) by Ed Greenwood | I Smell Sheep

Saturday, June 14, 2014

Book Reviews: The Herald (The Sundering #6) by Ed Greenwood

The Herald (The Sundering #6)
by Ed Greenwood
In the 6th and final book of the multi-author Sundering series launched by New York Times best-selling author R.A. Salvatore, Ed Greenwood, the creator of the Forgotten Realms®, further chronicles the exploits of Elminster as he fights for the future of Faerûn.

Chaos grips Faerûn as vainglory, prophecy, and ancient forces comingle in the shadows cast by war. Agents of the Shadovar lurk in the corners of Candlekeep in search of the arcane secrets that will power their war machine toward Myth Drannor. Gods and their Chosen run amok, all in a gambit to seize power. And a threat foretold by an ancient seer stirs.

At the heart of it all, Mystra, the great Goddess of Magic, has withdrawn from the world. Without her protection, Elminster, her greatest champion, fears for the nascent Weave, the fabric of magic Mystra wields to bind Faerûn. Will the Nightseer Shar, mistress of the great and fearsome Shadovar, seize the opportunity to blanket the world with her Shadow Weave?

With the help of Storm Silverhand and his protégé Amarune, Elminster works frantically to strengthen the Weave’s tethers and forestall what seems an inevitable reckoning. But other interests machinate for their own sinister ends.

As the Sundering draws nigh, Elminster and his heroic cohort must see the signs for what they are. The choice of worlds lies in the balance.

As this sixth installment in the telling of The Sundering brings the saga to a close with The Herald, I find myself admiring the huge task the author has accomplished. Six books, multiple authors all contributing to this wonderful tale and what I have read of series, this undertaking has proven to be a great collaboration.

In The Herald the author has taken all the strings and woven them into a well meshed and colorful cloth that kept my curiosity fresh and my fingers turning the pages. I will admit that my having read only two of the six installments left me a bit lost at times, particularly when characters previously chronicled were revisited, and I would suggest reading the series in order to avoid missing any of the action and reap the full reward of this beautifully written book.

I would recommend this series to high fantasy fans who enjoy plenty of intrigue, magic, and battles, as well as all the fun twists and turns that make this genre great. I received this book via NetGalley.

5 Sheep


About the Author:
Ed Greenwood is the creator of the Forgotten Realms fantasy world, which became the setting for his home D&D game in 1975. Play still continues in this long-running campaign, and Ed also keeps busy producing Realmslore for various TSR publications.

Ed has published over two hundred articles in Dragon magazine and Polyhedron newszine, is a lifetime charter member of the Role Playing Game Associaton (RPGA) network, has written over thirty books and modules for TSR, and been Gen Con Game Fair guest of honor several times.

In addition to all these activities, Ed works as a library clerk and has edited over a dozen small press magazines.

Invented the character Elminster from the popular Forgotten Realms RPG series. Currently resides in an old farmhouse in the countryside of Ontario, Canada.

All six of The Sundering series


  1. You caught my interest, I'll be looking this series up, thanks for sharing :)

  2. Interesting. They must be good to bring the whole series together under different writers.

    1. They are a fantastic group of authors and this was definitely a huge undertaking. Definitely a success and they are not short reads. :)