GtPGKogPYT4p61R1biicqBXsUzo" /> Google+ Series Book Review: The Reaper Series Books 1, 2 and 3 by Lisa Medley | I Smell Sheep

Wednesday, April 29, 2015

Series Book Review: The Reaper Series Books 1, 2 and 3 by Lisa Medley

click to read the review of book one

Review: Reap and Repent (The Reaper Series Book 1)

Reap and Redeem (The Reaper Series Book 2)
by Lisa Medley
Genre: Urban Fantasy
Publisher: Big Cedar
Date of Publication: March 10, 2015
ISBN: 978-0-9908856-4-1
Number of pages: 326
Cover Artist: Sweet and Spicy Designs 
He’s a reaper who has given up on saving souls. Will a dying woman be his salvation?

After a century of enslavement to pure evil, Kylen Larson is finally free. But he’s long past caring. The only woman he ever loved is dead, and he’s tormented by memories of the horrors his demon parasite forced him to commit. Now, he lives for nothing more than hunting down the infernal creatures invading Meridian, Arkansas, and destroying them.

Olivia Evans is in the final stages of cancer when Kylen accidentally saves her from demonic possession. When he rescues this innocent soul, Kylen rediscovers his mission—and his heart. All he wants is to help Olivia stay alive. He’ll just have to fight off an invasion from Hell first…

Demon Disaster!!

Book 2 of the Reaper series centers most of the story around Kylen who was introduced in book 1 as the best friend of Deacon ( now promoted to a Power). Kylen was a reaper that had been inhabited by a demon for 100 years and was freed by Ruth and Nate.

Kylen (Mr. Bad attitude) still carries a grudge against his lifelong friend Deacon for not killing him during his time of being possessed by the demon. Even after his rescue and separation from his resident demon, Kylen still carries a death wish. He is lost and continues to grieve for the loss of his soulmate Kara who has now ascended to the 4th realm of heaven and is inaccessible to Kylen.

Looming disaster abounds as the fallen Angel Camael is opening portals all over Meridian allowing demons to access the human realm en masse. (Holy Moley Batman!) Apparently the reapers are playing "Whac-a-mole" with demons constantly ascending into the human realm at multiple portals.

On one of Kylen's "pity party" disappearances from the rest of the reaper crew, he comes across a young girl in the process of being accosted by a demon. He pulls her back from the brink of disaster and takes her back to the safe house to be healed having no idea the course his life is about to take. His attachment to Olivia confuses him and when he finds out she is already dying of cancer tries to move heaven and hell to save her from her fate.

Olivia has made a "bucket list" of things she wants to do before she dies and is running out of time. Kylen decides he is going to make sure her list is completed and during that process, falls in love. The last wishes on her bucket list are: 1) sleep under the stars, 2) fly over a volcano, 3) save a life, 4) get drunk and 5) have a "one nite stand". HMMMM....could any hot blooded male deny her those last wishes?! With a little help from Deacon and his past "mate" Kara, Kylen is given a way to save Olivia from her fate......IF Kylen has time and is not too late!

The author does a good job of keeping Deacon, Ruth and Nate (from Book 1) in the mix and continues the storyline of their bond. I almost felt as if she was telling two stories at once, Deacon and Ruth and Olivia and Kylen. I think I understand she was using her books to "shine" on the different characters introduced in the first book. She introduces a new reaper named Maeve who has taken Deacon's place as a normal reaper (since he has been promoted to a "Power" reaper). She plays an important part in the "saving" of Ruth from certain disaster when Ruth finds herself in a "delicate" position and injured. I am sure we will hear more about Maeve in the next installment of the "Reaper" series along with Nate, the new and improved "witch" with perks!

Although the MC of this book is Kylen and could be a stand-alone, I recommend reading Book 1 to understand his character and the supporting players. This book was a little easier to read at a slower pace but still kept my interest enough to want to read the next in the series. Of course my interest could be piqued to see how Deacon and Ruth fare with the impending arrival of a "new" reaper!

I give this book 4 "redeeming" sheep


ebook, 302 pages
Published 2015 by Big Cedar
By day he saves lives in the city he loves. Can he save souls too?

Nate is an EMT, a witch and a newly inducted member of the Reaper Authority Force. What he’s not is a reaper. With unexplained abilities, his true nature lies somewhere in between the angels, demons and reapers he finds himself involved with. When he’s paired with the reaper Maeve, he struggles to find his place in the rising war to save the souls of Meridian and the world.

Maeve has tried to hide her reaper handicap–her toxic reaper energy–from her colleagues. But when she’s possessed by a fallen angel and forced to poach souls for Hell, her greatest weakness might be the only thing that saves her.

Nate uses his growing powers and his innate magic to find Maeve. He’ll do whatever it takes to save her, revealing more than he ever imagined in the process.

More twists than a roller coaster!
Book III of the Reaper Series offers lots of new twists and revelations. It also draws in a little "witch" magic to help with their cause of trying to prevent Camael (Lucifer's right hand man) from opening a major portal between the realms and allowing all demons free range on human existence.

This installment continues the story of Ruth, Deacon and their soon to be "little" reaper but highlights the story of Nate (Deacon's witchy friend) and Maeve (the replacement reaper for Deacon). They had just been assigned as partners to help rid the town of Meridian from the hundreds of demons allowed through portals directly from hell. Discovering an unbreakable bond they travel a path from exorcism and rescue to discovery of new powers and undeniable strength in their relationship.

Want to know if a soul can be "reinstalled" in it's body? Can a fallen angel redeem himself to earth and Heaven? Can twins find each other and their true parents after years of separation? Can an EMT raised in a "witches" community develop his natural "reaper" talents unknowingly? What happens to the mind of the person possessed by a demon...are they still able to effect change or gather knowledge?

Many twists to the story and revelations regarding parentage and powers are revealed (perhaps reason for the title?!) . By the end of the story you might even find yourself feeling a little less bloodthirsty for Camael's demise........does he deliver retribution for being evicted from Heaven or does he find redemption from above for his final act of courage to disregard the wishes of Lucifer? Pick up a copy and find out!

I recommend, if at all possible, starting at Book 1 as I think a little more history only makes this story "meatier". I am so looking forward to the next installment of the adventures of Deacon, Ruth and their comrades!!


I give this book 4 "revealing" sheep!


About the Author:
Lisa has always enjoyed reading about monsters in love and now she writes about them, because monsters need love too.

She adores beasties of all sorts, fictional as well as real, and has a farm full of them in her Southwest Missouri home, including: one child, one husband, two dogs, two cats, a dozen hens, thousands of Italian bees, and a guinea pig.

She may or may not keep a complete zombie apocalypse bug-out bag in her trunk at all times, including a machete. Just. In. Case.


  1. Thanks for reading and for the review love :D Reap on!