GtPGKogPYT4p61R1biicqBXsUzo" /> Google+ Book Review (sort of): Darkness Falls by Erin Kellison | I Smell Sheep

Paranormal reviews of books, movies, comics with author interviews and giveaways we love urban fantasy, romance, science fiction, horror, fantasy, mysteries

Monday, May 12, 2014

Book Review (sort of): Darkness Falls by Erin Kellison

Darkness Falls (Reveler #1)
by Erin Kellison

ebook, 115 pages
Published May 12th 2014
Fire Flower Publishing, LLC
Agent Malcolm Rook is hunting for people with the rarest of talents—the ability to master dreams. He finds the undeniably gifted Jordan Lane, but she’s wary of mysterious Rook and resists his pursuit as long as she can. Yet the dreamwaters they enter are too exhilarating to resist, and attraction soon ignites electric passions. Delving too deep stirs a nightmare, one they must defeat, or be forever lost to darkness.

Darkness Falls is part of the Dark and Deadly: Eight Bad Boys of Paranormal Romance book bundle which you can get for only $.99!

This isn't an 'official' review because I was involved in the editing of this novella. But if you've read any of my reviews of Erin Kellison's work you know I am a big fangirl of all of her Shadow books. Also, I think she is one of the best novella writers out there. She gives a full novel experience in every one of her novellas with the perfect mix of PNR and UF.

In urban fantasy an author creates a world, I guess you can call it their play ground. Once the mainframe of that world is established all they have to do is let their characters out to play. Creating a unique and fascinating playground is what will lure the reader to play along too.

The Reveler Novella Series is a dark, dangerous and thrilling place to go. I love the whole idea behind Rêve's, a place where people go to share an artificial dream and anytime you start playing with people's minds you know there will be bad guys looking to exploit it. Only there are things in the Dreamwaters that can't be controlled.

Darkness Falls is the first in the series and lays down the foundation of the world building. There is also a romance with a conclusion between the main characters just like any full PNR novel and you also meet the couple that will be the subject of the next story. 

Loved this story and I can tell you the next book, Lay Me Down (releasing May 6), is even better as we learn more about the darkside of Rêve as well as Jordan's sister Maisie and the bane of her existence Steve Coll.


About the author:
Erin Kellison is the New York Times and USA Today bestselling and award-winning author of the Shadow series and Shadow Kissed series, which share the same world, where dark fantasy meets modern fairy tale. Delve into dreamscapes in her new Reveler series, releasing Summer 2014.


  1. bad boys and paranormal action What a great combo and for such a great deal!

    1. I know! You can't beat the price for 8 stories by some of the top talent in PNR. Hope you find some new authors like Erin, she kind of rocks

  2. I loved Erin's Shadow series, but I haven't read this new (well, new 2 me") series and I really have been meaning to. With a deal like this, I guess it's time! Awesome job as always!

    1. great! This has a different voice from the Shadow stuff, but just as good and such a creative world she is building

  3. I do have this box set, I just have to read it ... And I do have some of Erin's books on my shelves, but also, I have no read them yet. Still, a person can never have too many books ...